Ninghai county

chinadaily.com.cn| Updated:  April 8, 2024 L M S


Ninghai county, Ningbo. [Photo provided to chinadaily.com.cn]

Location: Ninghai, a coastal county administered by Ningbo, East China's Zhejiang province. 

GDP: 90.07 billion yuan (2022)

Permanent residents: 709,000 (2022)

Area: 1,931 square kilometers

Land area: 1,843 square kilometers; Sea area: 88 square kilometers

Administrative divisions: 

Ninghai governs four sub-districts, 11 towns and three townships — Yuelong sub-district, Taoyuan sub-district, Meilin sub-district, and Qiaotouhu sub-district; Changjie town, Liyang town, Yishi town, Chalu town, Qiantong town, Sangzhou town, Huangtan town, Dajiahe town, Qiangjiao town, Xidian town, and Shenzhen town; Huchen township, Chayuan township and Yuexi township.


In September 2019, Ninghai was designated a national "all-for-one" tourism demonstration zone.

In October of the same year, it ranked among the top 100 counties nationwide in terms of comprehensive strength. 

It was also listed among the top 100 counties across the nation in terms of business climate and tourism development. 

In the same month, the county was designated as a national pilot area in implementing the "Two Mountain" Theory.