chinadaily.com.cn| Updated:  March 17, 2021 L M S


GDP: 1.24087 trillion yuan (2020)

Permanent residents: 9.404 million (2021)

Location: southeastern part of East China's Zhejiang province and southern wing of the developed Yangtze River Delta region.

Area: 9,816 square kilometers


Ningbo's gross domestic product (GDP) totaled 1.24087 trillion yuan ($190.9 billion) in 2020, a yearly uptick of 3.3 percent, according to preliminary statistics released by the Ningbo Bureau of Statistics on Jan 26. 

The added value of the city's primary, secondary, and tertiary industries reached 33.84 billion yuan, 569.39 billion yuan, and 637.64 billion yuan, representing a growth of 2.1 percent, 3 percent, and 3.6 percent, respectively.

The industrial added value of enterprises above the designated size in Ningbo expanded 5.2 percent year-on-year, 2.8 percentage points higher than in the first three quarters of last year.

Their combined profits stood at 155.27 billion yuan, up 17.7 percent year-on-year. 

Emerging sectors including health manufacturing, artificial intelligence, high-tech manufacturing, and the digital economy maintained robust growth momentum, with added value growing 15.3 percent, 14.9 percent, 13 percent and 9.7 percent respectively. 

As the prime engines fueling local economic growth, investment in fixed assets and foreign trade also showed good performances.

In 2020, the city's investment in fixed assets achieved year-on-year growth. Its foreign trade value rose 6.7 percent year-on-year to 978.69 billion yuan, with exports expanding 7.3 percent to 640.7 billion yuan, accounting for 3.57 percent of the nation's total.

The income gap between its urban and rural residents has also been further narrowed.

The city's overall per capita disposable income increased by 3.2 percent to 59,952 yuan. Per capita disposable income of urban residents rose to 68,008 yuan, while the figure for rural residents was 39,132 yuan.

Administrative divisions

Ningbo governs six districts, two counties, and two county-level cities — Haishu district, Jiangbei district, Zhenhai district, Beilun district, Yinzhou district, Fenghua district, Ninghai county, Xiangshan county, Yuyao city, and Cixi city.

Updated on March 11