Ningbo University

Updated:  November 16, 2016 L M S

Ningbo University is a dynamic and comprehensive university with a wide range of disciplines, including economics, law, education, liberal arts, history, science, engineering, agronomy, medicine and management. It is one of the key higher learning institutions in Zhejiang Province. Deng Xiaoping, a former national leader autographed the name of Ningbo University. 

Since its foundation, the university has been supported by considerable donations and from generous patriotic overseas Chinese such as Yue-kong Pao, Run-run Shaw, Chao An Chung, Hans Tang, Yue-shu Pao, Cao Guangbiao, Li Dashan and Zhu Xiushan. 



The university is located in the historic and cultural Ningbo city, Zhejiang province bordering the East China Sea. Ningbo has long been acclaimed as a thriving commercial port and a shining pearl on the East Sea. Ningbo has gradually grown to be a major city in the southern Yangtze Delta and is a key trading port in East China. 

The university has five campuses, covering an area of over 160 hectares. The main campus, adjacent to Ningzhen Road in the north and Yongjiang River in the south, offers wide spaces for study and research with magnificent buildings and pleasant lawns and landscaping.

The university supplies exceptional facilities and services for teaching and research. Its libraries now have a CNKI Network Administrative Service Center, and a collection of approximately 1.4 million books. The university consists of 19 faculties and colleges, offering 65 bachelor programs and 56 master programs.

Ningbo University offers mainly undergraduate programs, and is concurrently making vigorous efforts to expand its graduate programs and doctoral degrees in cooperation with other universities.   

Adapting with local economic and social developments, the university has adjusted and optimized its structure of disciplines, resulting in 13 provincial key academic disciplines and key assisted academic disciplines, 11 municipal key academic disciplines and key assisted academic disciplines, all bearing distinct regional characteristics. 

The university has also made great advancements in scientific studies and social services. It has 2 provincial key laboratories, 12 municipal key laboratories, and 77 institutes.     

Ningbo University maintains close links and intercollegiate cooperation with 47 well-known institutions of higher learning in Canada, Germany, France, Britain, USA, Sweden, Japan, South Korea and Australia. The success of its international exchanges is exemplified by its successful China-Canada joint-educational program and other programs for international students from Japan and other foreign countries. 

The university has also had successful cooperation and exchanges with higher learning institutions in Hong Kong and Taiwan. To date, Ningbo University has signed cooperative agreements with The Chinese Culture University of Taiwan, the Chaoyang University of Technology, the Chihlee Institute of Commerce and Taiwan Marine University.

The university is now endeavoring to become a well-known institute of higher learning displaying both educational and academic excellence, not only closely linked with local economic and social developments, but also contributing more to the economic prosperity and social development of Zhejiang province and China.